Two titles in the Asian Le Mans Series with the Ligier JS P2 and the Ligier JS P3!

This weekend on the Sepang circuit the no. 25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JS P2 clinched overall victory and the no. 26 Tockwith Motorsports Ligier JS P3 came first in the P3 category, so both teams took home their respective titles in the Asian Le Mans Series. At the end of what was a very closely-fought championship each of these titles gives the team in question an automatic invitation for the 2017 Le Mans 24 Hours for which they should both have Ligier JS P217s.

The Sepang 4 Hours, the fourth and last round of the 2016-2017 Asian Le Mans Series, saw the triumph of the Onroak Automotive cars in the overall classification and in the LM P3 category. The no. 25 Ligier JS P2 run by Algarve Pro Racing, after a third pole position in the series, saw the chequered flag in first place after four hours driven by Andrea Pizzitola, Andrea Roda and Aidan Read. This victory plus the fastest lap in the race gave Stewart and Samantha Cox's team the 2016-2017 Asian Le Mans Series title and an invitation to the Le Mans 24 Hours. The Portuguese squad will be racing in the Sarthe classic for the second time, and it has renewed its confidence in Onroak Automotive as it intends to enter a Ligier JS P217, which it should also race in the European Le Mans Series.

In the LM P3 category in a field which includes the Ginetta LM P3s and the Adess 03 the Onroak Automotive cars sealed a triple in the final round. Tockwith Motorsports scored their third pole position in LM P3 in four races, notched up their second victory and also set the fastest lap in the race with the no. 26 Ligier JS P3 in the hands of Nigel Moore and Phil Hanson. Their win gave the Asian Le Mans Series LM P3 title to Simon Moore's team as well as a precious invitation to the Le Mans 24 Hours for which Tockwith Motorsports will enter a Ligier JS P217.

Two more Ligier JS P3s completed the LM P3 podium after a no-holds-barred race. G-Print by Triple 1 Racing finished second following its third places in Zhuhai and Buriram, and into third came the Jackie Chan DC Racing entry.

The invitations for the Le Mans legendary race clinched this weekend by Algarve Pro Racing and Tockwith Motorsports are added to the one awarded to United Autosports for their LM P3 title in the European Le Mans Series. With just a few days to go to the announcement by the Automobile Club de l'Ouest – ACO – of the official lists on 2nd February, Onroak Automotive is already
preparing to support these three teams which intend to enter Ligier JS P217s for the 85th Le Mans 24 Hours on 17-18 June in the Sarthe.